Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Seven area girls earn all-SICL basketball recognition

Some of the top girls’ basketball teams in Class 1A this season came from the South Iowa Cedar League. 

One of those teams was the Lynnville-Sully Hawks, who advanced to their fourth straight regional championship game. 

Colfax-Mingo also made strides in the team standings and nearly won a playoff game this past season. 

A total of seven Hawks and Tigerhawks landed on the SICL all-conference teams, which were released last week after Montezuma lost in the first round of the girls state basketball tournament. 

Leading the way from the area was Lynnville-Sully senior Mariah Vos, who was one of eight first-team selections. 

L-S junior Carson Fisk and Colfax-Mingo junior Payton Rhone were part of the eight-player second team, while L-S seniors Jataya Meyer and Camryn Russell and C-M seniors Ries Wilson and McKeely Tjaden were all honorable mention selections. 

Vos and Fisk were the two biggest reasons why the Hawks finished 18-7 overall and 10-6 in the conference. Five of the six conference losses came to state-ranked Montezuma and North Mahaska and Sigourney, which was 15-1 in conference play. 

Vos, a unanimous first-team pick, averaged 10.5 points, 6.5 rebonds and 2.68 steals per game in conference play. She made 45 percent of her shots and dished out 21 assists. Overall, Vos averaged 10 points. 6.4 rebounds and 2.64 steals per contest and made 41 percent from the floor. 

Fisk led the Hawks in both scoring and rebounding. In conference games, she ranked 10th in the league at 12 points per game and was fifth in rebounding at 7.5 per contest. Fisk also averaged 1.37 assists and 1.31 steals per game and made 45 percent of her shots.  

Fisk’s numbers were better when you added in the non-conference and playoff games. She averaged 14 points and 7.5 rebounds per game and shot 48 percent from the floor. She dished out 1.45 assists and swiped 1.63 steals per game. 

The Hawks will graduate three all-conference players before next season. The other two are Meyer and Russell. 

Meyer averaged 4.7 points and 3.3 rebounds per game in conference games while dishing out 14 assists and swiping 18 steals. Overall, Meyer averaged 5.7 points and 3.3 rebounds per game and finished with 22 assists and 28 steals.

Russell averaged 4.1 points, two rebounds, 2.7 assists and one steal per game overall. In conference games, Russell improved her average to five points per game. She also averaged two rebounds, 2.47 assists and 1.4 steals per contest. 

Rhone had a breakout season in helping the Tigerhawks improve their win total by two games from the previous season. 

Rhone was one of the top shooters in the SICL, burying a league-high 51 treys in conference play. She averaged 12.6 points and 2.1 rebounds per game in the SICL. She was the top free-throw shooter at 92 percent (12-of-13). 

Overall, Rhone averaged 12.5 points and two rebounds per game. She was the top free-throw shooter at 90 percent (20-of-22) and tied for first in the league with 67 made 3-pointers. 

Tjaden was the Tigerhawks’ second leading scorer and rebounder this season. She averaged 9.3 points and 5.6 rebounds overall and 7.2 points and five rebounds per game in conference play. 

Wilson led Colfax-Mingo in rebounds. She ranked 10th in the league in SICL games at 6.3 boards per contest and was eighth overall at 6.6 rebounds per game. Wilson averaged five points per game with 21 blocks. She had nine blocks in conference play and averaged 4.5 points per game.  

South Iowa Cedar League


First Team

*Mariah Vos, senior, Lynnville-Sully

*Autumn Barthelman, senior, Sigourney

*Shateah Wetering, sophomore, Montezuma

*Kassidi Steele, sophomore, North Mahaska

Cheyenne Shaw, sophomore, North Mahaska

Riley Gatton, junior, Montezuma

Kenzie Mantz, junior, Belle Plaine

Audrey Grove, senior, English Valleys

*denotes unanimous selection

Second Team

Carson Fisk, junior, Lynnville-Sully

Payton Rhone, junior, Colfax-Mingo

Jade Hay, sophomore, North Mahaska

Paige Layman, sophomore, North Mahaska

Summer Barthelman, junior, Sigourney

Lyla Kriegel, senior, BGM

Cherrise Ward, senior, Iowa Valley

Addison Sprouse, junior, Keota

Honorable Mention

Camryn Russell, senior, Lynnville-Sully

Jataya Meyer, senior, Lynnville-Sully

Ries Wilson, senior, Colfax-Mingo

McKeely Tjaden, senior, Colfax-Mingo

Andrea Healey, junior, Iowa Valley

Caleigh Smith, senior, Iowa Valley

Allison Stienke, senior, Tri-County

Emma Cheney, senior, HLV

Haley Coats, junior, HLV

Emma Tyrrel, sophomore, North Mahaska

Elise Boulton, freshman, Montezuma

Breck Goodman, senior, Montezuma

Leah Carter, senior, Sigourney

Megan Stuhr, senior, Sigourney

Sam Ward, junior, Belle Plaine

Shaylee Dodd, junior, Belle Plaine

Addison Swanson, sophomore, Keota

Sydney Olson, senior, English Valleys

Madison Trimpe, junior, English Valleys

Kelsey Lint, junior, BGM

Rylie VanErsvelde, sophomore, BGM

Coach of the Year

L.E. Moore, North Mahaska

Loading more