Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Ten area boys earn all-SICL basketball honors

After winning its third straight South Iowa Cedar League title this season, five Lynnville-Sully boys’ basketball players were named to the 2017-18 All-SICL team.

Colfax-Mingo went 11-5 in conference play and five Tigerhawks were named to the all-conference squad.

Three L-S players were named to the SICL first team, including seniors Jesse Van Wyk, Brevin Hansen and Tanner Foster. Junior Rylan James earned second-team honors, and junior Tyson Vander Linden was an honorable mention selection.

For Colfax-Mingo, senior Jarod Nichols was a first-team selection, while seniors Reegan Van Dyke and Jonathan Jacobs claimed second-team recognition.

Senior Alex Lewis and sophomore Brady Berkey were both honorable mention choices.

Lynnville-Sully head coach Nick Harthoorn was voted the SICL Coach of the Year after guiding the Hawks to an undefeated 16-0 conference campaign. L-S won the SICL title last year and earned a share of the crown two seasons ago.

The Hawks’ run to the championship came in large part because of their balance on offense.

Four players averaged in double-figures during conference play. All five starters were recognized as all-conference players.

Van Wyk led the Hawks in scoring at 14.2 points, rebounding at 8.2, assists at 3.3 and blocks at 1.27 per game. He also averaged 1.23 steals per game, shot 55 percent from the floor, 79 percent from the free-throw line and made 14 3-pointers.

During the SICL conference season, Van Wyk improved his scoring average to 15.1 points per game, which ranked sixth in the conference.

He grabbed 8.1 rebounds, dished out three assists, blocked 1.4 shots and swiped 1.3 steals per game while shooting 58 percent from the floor and 81 percent from the line.

Hansen was the team’s point guard and top shooter. He averaged 11.8 points, 2.9 rebounds, a team-high 3.3 assists and 2.4 steals per game while making 51 3-pointers. He connected on 40 percent of his 3-point tries.

In conference play, Hansen improved his scoring average to 12.3 points per game. He also grabbed 3.3 rebounds, dished out 3.2 assists and swiped 2.4 steals per game while burying 37 3-pointers. He made 45 percent of his 3-point shots.

His 37 3-pointers in conference play and 51 3-pointers overall ranked second in the league.

Foster was the team’s second leading scorer overall at 13.1 points per game. He averaged 4.4 rebounds, 1.8 assists and 1.5 steals per game. Foster drained 35 3-pointers while shooting 53 percent from the field.

Foster averaged 12.2 points, 4.1 rebounds, 2.2 assists and 1.75 steals per game in conference play. He also hit 18 3-pointers, while making 54 percent of his shots.

Colfax-Mingo’s lone first-team selection was Nichols, who led the league in the rebounding and was second in scoring.

Nichols averaged 18.8 points, 13 rebounds, 1.5 assists and 1.6 steals per game. He hit 13 3-pointers and shot 52 percent from the floor.

In conference play, Nichols scored 18.6 points, grabbed 13 rebounds, dished out 1.44 assists and swiped 1.86 steals per game. He made 12 treys and shot 52 percent from the floor.

Nichols recorded a double-double in 20 of the team’s 21 games and 15 of the 16 SICL contests.

Jacobs and Van Dyke were Colfax-Mingo’s two second-team selections after both nearly averaged a double-double.

Jacobs averaged 10 points per game and led the conference at 8.3 assists per contest. He also grabbed 1.7 rebounds and swiped 2.9 steals per game while making 13 3-pointers and shooting 78 percent from the line.

In conference play, Jacobs averaged 10.6 points and an SICL-high 8.1 assists per game. He also swiped 2.75 steals and pulled down 1.8 boards per game. He made 11 3-pointers and connected on 85 percent of his free throws.

Jacobs’ 174 assists set a new school record, and his 8.3 assists per game also set a new school benchmark.

Van Dyke averaged 8.3 points per game and ranked second in the league at 9.8 boards per game. He dished out 2.3 assists and blocked 1.9 shots per game while making 14 3-pointers.

In conference play, Van Dyke averaged 7.4 points, 10.1 rebounds, 2.1 assists and 1.8 blocks per game.

Lynnville-Sully’s second-team selection was James. The Hawk junior averaged 8.8 points and 6.8 rebounds while shooting 53 percent from the floor.

In SICL games, James improved his scoring average to 10 points and grabbed 6.8 boards per game. He also averaged 1.2 assists and one block per game while shooting 57 percent from the floor.

Vander Linden was the Hawks’ lone honorable mention selection. He averaged 7.2 points, 1.4 rebounds, a team-high 3.3 assists and 1.3 steals per game while making 31 3-pointers.

In conference play, Vander Linden averaged 7.7 points, 1.3 rebounds, a team-high 3.75 assists and 1.25 steals per game. He made 21 3-pointers and connected on 70 percent of his free throws. His 3.75 assists per game ranked fourth in the league.

Berkey and Lewis were Colfax-Mingo’s two honorable mention picks.

Berkey averaged 9.8 points, two rebounds, 3.9 assists and two steals per game. He made 14 3-pointers.

In conference play, Berkey improved to his scoring average to 10.2 points and also dished out 3.8 assists, swiped 1.73 steals and grabbed 1.6 rebounds per game. He also made 11 3-pointers.

Lewis averaged 9.7 points and 2.7 assists per game overall and in conference play. Lewis grabbed 2.7 rebounds and 1.76 steals this season.

In conference play, he averaged 2.3 rebounds and 1.8 steals per game. He led his team with 21 made 3-pointers and hit 15 of those in conference play.

South Iowa Cedar League


First Team

Jarod Nichols, senior, Colfax-Mingo

Jesse Van Wyk, senior, Lynnville-Sully

Brevin Hansen, senior, Lynnville-Sully

Tanner Foster, senior, Lynnville-Sully

Garrett Straight, junior, Belle Plaine

Trey Shearer, freshman, Montezuma

J.D. Stout, sophomore, Keota

Cameron Krumm, senior, Tri-County

Coach of the Year

Nick Harthoorn, Lynnville-Sully

Golden Award

Dustin Haines, junior, Sigourney

Second Team

Rylan James, junior, Lynnville-Sully

Jonathan Jacobs, senior, Colfax-Mingo

Reegan Van Dyke, senior, Colfax-Mingo

Brady Powers, sophomore, Sigourney

Noah Beck, sophomore, BGM

Hunter Ray, junior, Montezuma

Trevin Straight, sophomore, Belle Plaine

Josh Konicek, senior, Iowa Valley

Hunter Wilson, senior, Keota

Honorable Mention

Tyson Vander Linden, junior, Lynnville-Sully

Brady Berkey, sophomore, Colfax-Mingo

Alex Lewis, senior, Colfax-Mingo

Jake Jordan, senior, Iowa Valley

Noah Mumby, junior, Iowa Valley

Dylan Seaton, senior, Tri-County

Brayden Monroe, sophomore, Tri-County

Vance Bushong, senior, Montezuma

Reece McCaslen, senior, Montezuma

Spencer Magill, junior, Sigourney

Kyler Weber, junior, Sigourney

Ben Sherburne, senior, North Mahaska

Thomas Wilkin, senior, North Mahaska

Kobe Grieder, junior, Belle Plaine

Dylan Fry, junior, Belle Plaine

Braydon Fisher, senior English Valleys

Clayton Moore, junior, English Valleys

Mitch Thys, senior, HLV

Kyle Frank, senior, HLV

Luke Greiner, senior, Keota

Jack Eakins, senior, Keota

Kyle Doty, senior, BGM

Kyle Cadden, junior, BGM

Loading more