Digital Access

Digital Access
Access from all your digital devices and receive breaking news and updates from around the area.

Home Delivery

Home Delivery
News, sports, local and regional entertainment and more!

Text Alerts

Text Alerts
Choose your news! Select the text alerts you want to receive: breaking news, prep sports scores, school closings, weather, and more.

Email Newsletters

Email Newsletters
We'll deliver news & updates to your inbox. Sign up for free e-newsletters today.
Local Sports

Four area girls grab more postseason hoops honors

Prairie City-Monroe senior Regan Freland earned all-state basketball recognition for the fourth time in her career as the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association released its annual girls’ basketball all-state teams on Tuesday.

Lynnville-Sully senior Mallory Loftus also earned all-state honors for the first time.

Four players in all earned postseason recognition following stellar seasons on the hardwood. Freland and Loftus both earned all-state, all-district and all-region recognition, while Newton’s Chassidy Henwood and Baxter’s Caitlyn Bruntz both landed on all-region teams in their respective classes.

Freland was a second-team all-state selection in Class 3A. She was picked to the 3A Southwest District team and the 3A Region 6 squad.

Loftus also earned second-team all-state honors in 1A. She was selected to the 1A Southeast District team and was picked to the 1A Region 6 team.

And on Monday, Loftus picked up another all-state honor as she was recognized as a 1A third-teamer by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

Henwood’s honor came in 4A Region 6 and Bruntz was selected to the 1A Region 5 team.

Freland finished her career with a school-record 1,461 points. She ranked top 20 in 3A in scoring and steals, averaging 16.4 points and 3.4 steals per game.

Freland also grabbed 5.2 rebounds and dished out three assists per game while blocking 13 shots.

Freland made 40 3-pointers. She shot 40 percent from the floor and 72 percent from the free-throw line. Freland scored in double-figures in all but four games this season, scored 20 or more 10 times and recorded four double-doubles.

Her best game of the season came against 4A state-ranked Gilbert as she had 20 points, 10 rebounds and seven steals. She also had 20 points, eight rebounds and three assists against 4A Knoxville.

Loftus averaged 17.8 points, 5.6 rebounds, 2.4 assists and two steals per game. She shot 53 percent from the floor, 35 percent from 3-point range and 71.4 percent from the line. Loftus made 25 3-pointers and blocked seven shots.

Loftus scored in double-figures in all but two games this season. She scored at least 20 points in seven games.

The Hawk senior averaged 22 points in the final 11 games of the season and scored 24 points per game in the team’s three playoff games.

Henwood was Newton’s leader in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals. She averaged 10.6 points, 7.7 rebounds, 5.6 assists and 4.7 steals per game.

Henwood blocked 12 shots. She shot 43 percent from the floor, 57 percent from the foul line and scored a career-high 23 points against Perry.

Her 103 steals ranked first in 4A and her 123 assists was tied for fourth. Both figures set new single-season school records.

Henwood tied the single-game assist mark of nine three times. She also set the single-game school record with 11 steals and tied the single-game school record with 19 rebounds.

Bruntz averaged 11.9 points, 1.6 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 4.4 steals per game. Her 102 total steals set a single-season school record. The 80 assists set a new single-season school record.

Bruntz set a school-record with 44 made 3-pointers, shot 35.8 percent from the floor and connected on 68.4 percent of her free throws. Bruntz set a new single-season scoring record with 273 points and her 27 points against Meskwaki Settlement was a new single-game school record.

Joining Freland on the 3A Southwest District team were Kuemper Catholic’s Mallory Badding, Roland-Story’s Reagan Barkema, Creston’s Kelsey Fields, North Polk’s Jaedon Murphy and Maggie Phipps, Des Moines Christian’s Moriah Prewitt, Atlantic’s Haley Rasmussen, Chariton’s Emma Rector and Red Oak’s Sophie Walker. Roland-Story’s Justin Morton was the SW District coach of the year.

The 3A Region 6 team included Phipps, Freland, Murphy, Benton’s Jenna Twedt, Mid-Prairie’s Maddie Nonnenmann and Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont’s Madysen Wade. Benton’s Jeff Zittergruen was the coach of the year.

Freland, Barkema, Fields, Murphy, Phipps, Prewitt, Rasmussen, Twedt and Walker were all on the 3A all-state team.

Joining Loftus on the 1A Southeast District team were Montezuma’s Shateah Wetering and Elise Boulton, North Mahaska’s Kassidi Steel and Jade Hay, Collins-Maxwell’s Reagan Franzen, Highland’s Alyssa Brase, Lone Tree’s Holly Johnson, Sigourney’s Megan Stuhr and Burlington Notre Dame’s Katie Stephens.

The 1A Region 6 team included Steel, Hay, Martensdale-St. Marys’ Jensen Archibald, Skylar Stewert and Maddy Stott, Loftus, Lamoni’s Abby Martin and Southeast Warren’s Josie Hartman. North Mahaska’s L.E. Moore was the coach of the year.

The 1A Region 5 team included Wetering, Boulton, Stuhr, Franzen, Bruntz, Sigourney’s Kaylee Weber, Iowa Valley’s Cassity Havens, Meskwaki Settlement School’s Payton Tahahwah. Montezuma’s Janel Burgess was the coach of the year.

Loftus, Wetering, Archibald, Steel and Stuhr all were part of the 1A all-state team.

The 4A Region 6 team included Henwood, Marion’s Kayla Laube, Riley Wright and Ella Van Weelden and Clear Creek Amana’s Karsyn Stratton and Calia Clubb. Clear Creek Amana’s P.J. Sweeney was the coach of the year.

Loading more